Texas Heritage Centre & Tobacco Museum
The Complex was established in 1972 in the historic Police House built in 1890. The Texas Heritage Centre & Tobacco Museum has numerous buildings to explore from a mini Shearing Shed, Harness Shed, Jail and Stocks, Smithy, Post Office Store, Farm Shed, to the Mission Hall. There is over 2000 catalogued items held in the Museum. We also have a School Room with the teacher aids of many decades ago. Relics from the Silverspur Mine, information from Texas Station and many photos and books written by members of the Historical Societyabout the people, events and industries of the area.
All items held at the Centre and Tobacco Museum are from the Texas District.
Displays include: Photographs, Family Histories, Horse Drawn Vehicles, Mini Shearing Shed, Harness Shed, Jail and Stocks, Smithy, Post Office Store, Farm Shed, Mission Hall.
We welcome all visitors including groups. We are open Saturdays from 9.30am to 1pm and by appointment at other times.
We can provide catering on request for groups. For bookings and catering prices please contact us.
Adults – $5
Children – $1
Family – $10